tes one.



credits: Tes One, left: Primary Flight, Poster  / right: Make Way, 36×48, acrylic on wood


Interested in street art?  This could be something for you: From painting murals and graffiti art to compelling graphic design –  US-based artist Leon Bedore aka Tes One took some time to answer my questions.

As you career started with graffiti, that obviously still has a strong impact on your work, I’d like to know, what got you into graffiti in your early days? What’s your definition of ‘graffiti’?

I discovered graffiti art when I was about 15 years old. I just remember being so inspired and amazed that artists were creating work in the streets, and at the time it seemed to be everything I was looking for. My view of graffiti art then was this unrestricted outlet for expression. However as I got more involved in the culture surrounding it, I realized that “graffiti” did have it’s own restrictions and it did not summarize all that I was as an artist.
I still love graffiti art and it will always be a part of me – just not all of me.

What was the reason to concentrate more on graphic based art?

I wouldn’t necessarily say that I concentrate “more” on graphic based art, it just also happens to be another passion of mine. I enjoy merging my design and art abilities into my own style of work. When I first started out, I had not seen anything like what I was producing (which inspired me to pursue my art career even further). I enjoy the challenge of representing art and design in my work simultaneously, and I’m always looking for better ways to achieve it.

Your web-site`s titled “Ill Communication”. I guess the name is a play of the so called Beastie Boys Album..What does music mean to your work?

Yes, the Beastie Boys were practically the soundtrack to my life during my high school years, and “Ill Communication” is somewhat of homage to them and the influence their music has had on me.
I’ve always envied the power of music and it’s ability to touch so many people, so deeply and instantly. It’s something I strive for in my chosen medium, with each piece that I create. [FIND MORE ON THE POP]

Leave a comment

Filed under ISSUE Ø7 - SERIES, ISSUE Ø8 - INTERVIEW

Leave a Reply

